Manila | July 2023

From June to August 2023, I conducted an eight-session hybrid workshop on writing photography, hosted by Ateneo Art Gallery, Manila. As part of the workshop, I had the luxury to stay on campus at Ateneo de Manila University for two weeks. It meant that I did not have to brave the Manila traffic on a daily basis. I could still enjoy my post-dinner walk on most nights in campus.

Other than running the workshop and meeting friends, I spent most of my time at the Rizal Library, looking through its amazing collections. In the past, I did not have the luxury to activate archives or collections. For someone who works primarily without institutional support, it is extremely costly to sit in a library to activate its collections. Over the years, I have learnt to be creative. Organizing the workshop in this way affords me a bit of time to base myself on campus to look through the Library’s materials. Had I accessed its materials earlier, I would have written a different narrative of Philippine photography.

3 Jul 2023 / My room at International Residence Hall, Ateneo De Manila University, before I messed it up
4 Jul 2023 / Church of the Gesu, Ateneo De Manila University
End 2006 / My first interviews with Filipino photographers took place in 2006. I am seen here being interrogated by two Filipino mafia-photographers at Siem Reap, during the second iteration of Angkor Photo Festival. Courtesy of unknown photographer who shot this piece of evidence on Jes Aznar’s camera.
12 July 2023 / It is a luxury to be staying on campus, so that I don’t have to brave the traffic of Manila, and that I could just walk to Rizal Library to lose myself in its collections.
9 Jul 2023 / Provenciano is still my favourite restaurant in Manila.
9 Jul 2023 / One of my favourites is the Chinoy Pako (fiddlehead ferns) salad at Provenciano.
9 Jul 2023 / Of course, I must have kinilaw (raw fish cured in vinegar).
9 Jul 2023 / Sugar rush at Provenciano–bibingka (coconut rice cakes with slices of salted egg).
9 Jul 2023 / Filipino comfort food at Manam, Greenbelt 2, Makati, with my Singaporean friend. This is Gising Gising (winged beans in coconut cream).
9 Jul 2023 / This is Manam’s Chicken and Pork Adobo.
9 Jul 2023 / I am seriously impressed with the tinapa rice at Manam.
13 Jul 2023 / The excellent tinapa rice with bangus (milkfish) at Nono’s, UP Town Center